Powell & Denny, P.C.
We Work When You Can’t
800-227-0882
Menu
Practice Areas

Birmingham Workers Compensation Lawyers

Birmingham Workers Compensation Lawyers

Birmingham Workers Compensation Lawyers: What if I did not immediately file an accident report? I could not count how many times an injured worker has called our office to inform us that their employer had told them that since they did not immediately file an accident report, they could not seek workers compensation benefits. This is rarely true.

First off, it is not an accident report that is to be filed, it is an INJURY report. This is not just a matter of semantics. Per Alabama law, employers are to file an injury report once they have been informed that one of their employees believes that they have suffered a job injury; there is not such obligation to file an accident report. If you believe that you were hurt at work, you have to tell your boss that you believe you were injured; simply saying that you were involved in an accident is not sufficient--your employer must know that you are claiming to have been hurt in said accident. If you tell your employer that you had a job accident, but never tell them that you believe that you were hurt, you have not properly reported a job injury, and time could later become an issue.

Secondly, speaking of time, according to Alabama law, an injured employee has up to 90 days after suffering a job injury to report said injury to their employer. The extended time is allowed because many times a worker thinks that they have merely suffered another pulled muscle and that it is no big deal--it will work itself out over time. Only after days (or weeks) of continued pain does the worker realize that they have really been hurt. The 90 days allotted is there to protect the injured worker, but also to protect the employer. If someone were allowed to wait 6 months before reporting a job injury, the employer's ability to properly investigate any injury would be severely compromised, and this would not be fair to employers.

Having stated this, it is always best to report a potential job injury as soon as possible. If after 90 days no INJURY has been reported, then you will have waived any right to workers compensation benefits (however, actual knowledge on the employer's part that you have suffered a job injury is sufficient knowledge-but again, report any injury as soon as possible).

If you work in the Metro Birmingham AL area, you have suffered a job injury and you have questions about your rights under the Alabama Workers Compensation system, please do not hesitate to contact the experienced Birmingham Workers' Compensation attorneys at POWELL AND DENNY.

Powell and Denny: We Work When You Can't

Offices in Birmingham, Alabama and Huntsville, Alabama

Birmingham Workers Compensation Lawyers

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

We Wrote the Book

My Alabama
Disability Claim by William Powell & Gregory Denny

Get Your Free Copy

Schedule a Confidential Evaluation

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Birmingham Office 1320 Alford Avenue Suite 201 Birmingham, AL 35226-3159 Toll Free: 800-227-0882 Phone: 205-978-2051 Fax: 205-978-2054 Map & Directions

Birmingham Office

Huntsville Office 600 Boulevard South SW Suite 104 Huntsville, AL 35802 Toll Free: 800-227-0882 Phone: 256-705-3510 Fax: 205-978-2054 Map & Directions

Huntsville Office